top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review for A Gamer's Wish


Blurb: Given the opportunity to make his dreams comes true, Henry Tsien decides to make a wish that will change his life forever. Now a newly created, low-leveled Mage in a world that has hidden secrets and histories, he'll need to find a way to survive, level up and pay his rent.


Review: Henry Tsien is barely scraping by. When he discovers a jinn in a magic ring, his first wish is to be a mage. Not any old magic user, but like one in role-playing games. Lily, his jinn, helps work out the details, and she becomes sort of a game master, in control of his leveling, so she doesn't have to be stuck in the ring. Yet many people in the world don't want Henry to have such a powerful magical artifact, and they're determined to take it away from him.


This is a fun and smart light Gamelit urban fantasy. Henry is the everyday young man with a good heart. He's living in a shabby studio basement apartment, unable to find work. How he finds the briefcase with the ring in it, I don't know, but that's where the story starts. When he gets three wishes from a jinn, he wishes for something a lot of regular folks might want, but he's smart about it. He doesn't want his head to explode from too much knowledge! The jinn warns him that it might happen--she's been around a long time and known many greedy wishers--and he listens to her. Which is a first for Lily! Leveling up allows him to learn to be a mage without overloading his brain, and it helps Lily not be a prisoner of the ring since he cannot wish her to be free. It's not all that easy though. Henry starts with basic quests like ridding sewers of rats and making deliveries. A very believable start for a squishy mage. I love the young Templar Knight wannabe who joins Henry's party and the video game obsessed Lily. There is a lot of world building and set up for the next books in this series. If you like easy to read and clean Gamelit, this one is for you.


You can find Tao Wong on his site and buy the book here.


NOTE TO READERS & AUTHORS: I apologize I cannot post my reviews on Amazon. There's been an issue with a product review and their AI banned me from posting reviews. (If you're curious, it wasn't a book review. It was for a product where I mentioned pricing, in a good way, but I guess you can't even mention pricing at all, no matter what their review policy states.) I have yet managed to get ahold of a real person to clear up this issue.


Happy Canada Day!

4 views2 comments

2 Comments


Guest
Jul 01

Sorry Amazon's being a beast, Christine. I know they're sensitive and some keywords trigger banishment. Thanks for the reviews here. I don't always get by, but when I do, I appreciate your time and effort!

Like

Guest
Jul 01

p.s. I had trouble logging in on your site when I posted my comment. Don't know what I did wrong. -)


C. Lee McKenzie

Like
bottom of page