top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review for Darklands Online (Book #1)


Blurb: It had been a number of years since Kurt had last played a video game. That all changed when his state wrestling bid was cut abruptly short. With nothing but time on his hands, Kurt relented to explore a VRMMO with his younger brother. Having been transported to a world ruled by magic and the strength of a blade, Kurt now must call upon skills he has not used in years. As the lines between reality and the game begin to blur, Kurt must figure out just what is going on with Darklands Online.


Review: Kurt only wanted to spend time with his younger brother Greg. He hadn't been that much into gaming, putting his focus on wrestling. So when the most realistic immersive game in the world promised to use real world skills, Kurt was in. Darklands Online is no easy game, and Kurt finds himself in far more than just a dangerous story.


This is the first book in a fantasy LitRPG series, and it's a good start. Not too much information is given about Kurt or the game, but enough to hook the reader. We learn about Darklands Online as Kurt does. His brother acts as a guide at first. Greg dies quickly in the game, but randomly becomes a wisp and is able to help Kurt. Yet even with the wisp leading the way, the storyline twists and Kurt is into something much bigger. The game is not stat heavy or overly complicated, but new things start to reveal themselves. This book to me was more of an introduction to Kurt and the game, and it sets up a huge and enthralling story that is to come. It has great potential for a massive world complicated by real life situations. I'll definitely be picking up the next book in the series.


You can find David J. Bushman on Twitter and buy his book here!


Happy new year, folks! I'm excited for another year of sharing the books I read with you. I made my 100 book Goodreads goal last year, and I've signed up for the same challenge again. Let me know if there's anything you want to see from my reviews. Would you like the star ratings? More in-depth critiques? Something else altogether? I do try to review mostly indie books as I love spreading the word about all the great indie authors out there. I'm also happy to support indie authors if they'd like to do a guest post. Just leave a comment or send me a message.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page