top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review for Demons and Debts (Desire Aforethought #1)


Blurb: A neurodivergent waitress being hunted. An Incubi MC who can help. But will their price be more than she can pay?


When I was fourteen, a woman I called mom was murdered … and it was my fault.


I’ve been on the run ever since, but someone’s chasing me. I don’t know who they are or what they want. The only thing I’m sure of is that I need to keep moving or more people will die.


They’re going to find me again. They always do.


The human authorities are useless. The supe cops, even worse. My only hope is the Iron Incubi MC, the biggest, baddest, meanest supes around. I’m sick of running and I’m desperate enough to make a deal even if it costs me everything I have left.


Oh, and I’m Autistic. My condition means my brain works differently. I can keep it together in the day-to-day and mask my hundreds of quirks when I’m around others for short times, but now the five human-hating Incubi who I went to for help have me prisoner at their ‘clubhouse’, i.e., mansion in the middle of nowhere.


So, what happens when five hot as sin s€x demons lock up a human girl who sucks at all the bedroom stuff, doesn’t cope well with change, and definitely can’t mask her ASD 24/7?


My name is Jane Mercy and I have no f**king clue, but I don’t think it’s going to go well for those gorgeous-enough-to-be-underwear-model, mercenary SOBs … especially when my stalkers come for me …


Review: Jane Mercy is a neurodivergent waitress on the run. Just when she thinks she can make a few friends, her mysterious stalkers find her and warn her to leave or they will kill those she cares for. The only time she didn't listen, they did as they threatened. So now Jane takes no chances. Yet when she makes a deal with the Iron Incubi, a supernatural motorcycle club of demons, to get rid of her stalkers, they bring her into their mansion to keep her safe. Yet Jane is something more than she believes, and the guys can't figure it out, but what they all know is that someone is trying to kill them and they must find answers or die.


This is the first book in a unique dark reverse harem romance. Make no mistake about it, it's dark. There are trigger warnings, so please take heed of them. I don't say this lightly. There are heavy and disturbing issues taken on in the story. This book is also one of the most unique dark romances that I've read. I greatly appreciate a truly neurodivergent heroine, and knowing autistic individuals, this is realistically done. Jane has a lot of strength and wit, and I liked her right from the start. Her history is still a mystery, and I do wonder if it might be some deceptive narration on her part or that it's something else altogether. There are five main incubi that are the focus of the story, and each one is unique and has layers. They are dark and horny, for certain, but there is something more to them and Jane brings it out. Why? We don't know. The ending is a cliffhanger too, so there are no answers in this book, but wow, what a ride! The overall world building is well done as well. I like that there are supernatural beings in the world, but they are very much restricted by laws, mostly set by the fae. So far, only the ones revolving around the incubi has been touched upon, but I have no doubt shifters, vampires, and other types have their own laws too. They've only come out to humans in the past decade, so everything is new. I already have the second book on my Kindle, and I can't wait to start reading it.


I've read the second book too, and it keeps right along with the first. We get more answers about Jane's past and it leaves the reader with another cliffhanger.


You can find Kyra Alessy on Facebook and buy the book here.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page