top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review for Kings of Eden


Blurb: I've danced for some powerful and deadly men. But lately, instead of dollars, I'm collecting death warrants.


I’ve always played with danger. And as long as I followed the rules, I told myself I’d always be safe.


One night is all it took, one mistake, and now every damned mafia criminal in the Black Spades gang is after me.


But so are the Kings of Eden.


Cassius, Dracon, and Knox-- they're monsters that would make the devil's serpent look like an inchworm.


They want to play with me, break me, rule me.


What they don't know is that I'll never fall to my knees... even if that's exactly where they want me.


Review: Eve was thrown out by her own overly strict mother, and while those years on the streets were horrible, she's grown into a strong woman. She's the star dancer at Kat's Kradle and she thinks she has everything together until the boss of the mafia family, the Black Spades wants her. When she fights and escapes, a target is put on her back not only by the Spades but all the gangs in town, including the infamous Kings of Eden. When they get a hold of her, they rule over her with monstrous grips. The Kings keep her locked in their tower, safe from the world, but not from them.


This is the first book in this dark reverse harem paranormal romance series. And read with a warning: it's dripping with darkness. I review books as they pertain to their genre, and I know this isn't everyone's cup of tea. I've put down quite a few dark romance books because they cross the line for me, and I do not support the type of fantasy they're selling. Yet Young and Brooks walk that fine line well, and they create unique stories.


Eve is a confident woman, and she knows how to handle men that get out of line. She's a stripper, after all, and has all the sass that goes with it. Though when faced with the powerful and gorgeous Kings, she's left breathless. Yet I love that she continually pushes back. A lot of disturbing stuff happened to her when she was younger, and when the Black Spades' boss tries to have his way with her, she fights, and even though she gets away, there are consequences. When she's taken by the Kings, she fights to escape too. As she spends more time locked in their tower, she uncovers the layers of these monsters.


Cassius is a demon with a wild sense of humor. There's one scene with him that I laughed so loud! Knox is the most terrifying in his sociopathic way, and I did not like my introduction to him. Yet we find out later why he acted that way, and that he is a fallen version of Death. Finally Dracon is the boss, a powerful dragon shifter, and so incredibly dominating and sexy. Eve gets tangled with them on so many levels. Then all the mafia politics and maneuvering, and the major huge cliffhanger at the end! I didn't see it coming at all.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page