top of page
Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review for The Price of Possession (Pizza Shop Exorcist #1)


Blurb: When my family died at the hands of a demon prince, I hung up my exorcist hat. I’d failed to protect them, and while I was willing to risk myself, the price had risen too high.


Now I’m serving up hot, fresh pizzas to everyone who wants them. I was the only person left to inherit the family business and I’m doing my best to keep it up and running in honor of my loved ones. These days, my biggest challenge is telling off a rampaging customer, and endless paperwork. That is, until he shows up again.


Darius was the only guy I couldn’t say no to, the one who dragged me into the world of the occult in the first place. When he shows up and begs me to assist with an exorcism, I reluctantly agree. He’s still using me; because I’m the best exorcist around and he only calls when he needs my help.


Before I know it, I’ve got an incubus in the living room, a hellhound marking around my yard, and a demon prince who can’t decide if he wants to kill me or… you know. Not to mention the vampire and the Nephilim I seem to have collected. Normally I wouldn’t work with the supernatural, but we all have a common goal. Prevent the crime syndicate from summoning a demon prince and becoming more powerful than we can hope to handle.


If I can keep my cool, it will be a miracle. If I can hold on to my soul it’ll be an even bigger one. No one ever claimed being an exorcist was easy, but to protect those I’m coming to love, I’ll pay whatever price necessary.


Review: Chris Price gave up the exorcist life when her parents were killed by a demon prince. Since then, she's been building her pizza parlor and living a quiet life where the most exciting thing some days is telling off a rude customer. Her childhood friend and priest show back up and ask for her help in an exorcism. As a favor, Chris agrees and she ends up deeper in a supernatural mess than she has ever been before. Now she has to help take down a demonic crime syndicate or else they could start the destruction of the world.


This is the first book in the thrilling paranormal reverse harem series, Pizza Shop Exorcist. It sounds a little over the top, and it is sometimes, but that's the fun of it. First off, no book has made me hungrier than this one. I had to have pizza for lunch, and it wasn't as nearly as satisfying as Chris' pizzas. I want to go to her cool punk themed parlor! She's an unusual female protagonist in this genre in that she's punk, tough, and in her mid-30's. She has some experience under her belt, even if she had tried to leave her exorcist life behind. She says "mate" an awful lot, and I know this annoyed some readers, but it is a small thing to overlook. I do wonder where she got the accent, being born and raised in America, though. I didn't trust her old friend Darius, and I still don't know where he stands. Funny how I don't trust the priest, but I immediately adored the demons! Mal the nerdy D&D loving vampire and Sabian the submissive incubus are wonderful. Throw in the dominant demon prince, Ezra, and wow. Plus a hellhound taking the form of a Pomeranian! Hilarious. I'm still figuring out the Nephilim, Aaron, but I see there's five books in this complete series. I will be picking up the whole lot of them. Lots of action, funny moments, and steamy scenes. Nothing too dark or heavy. Just a whole lot of fun.


You can find Dakota Brown on Facebook and buy the book here.

Comments


bottom of page