top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review of A Reckless Note (Brilliance Trilogy #1)


Blurb: It all started with a note, just a simple note hand written by a woman I didn't know, never even met. But in that note is perhaps every answer to every question I've ever had in my life. And because of that note, I look for her, but find him. I'm drawn to his passion, his talent, a darkness in him that somehow becomes my light, my life. Kace August is rich, powerful, a rockstar of violins, a man who is all tattoos, leather, good looks and talent. He has a wickedly sweet ability to play the violin, seducing audiences worldwide. Now, he’s seducing me. I know he has secrets. I don't care. Because you see, I have secrets, too.


I’m not Aria Alard, as he believes. I’m Aria Stradivari, daughter to Alessandro Stradivari, a musician born from the same blood as the man who created the famous Stradivarius violin. I am as rare as the mere 650 instruments my ancestors created. Instruments worth millions. 650 masterpieces, the brilliance unmatched. 650 reasons to kill. 650 reasons to hide. One reason not to: him.


Review: Aria Alard has secrets that she shares with her brother Gio, but now Gio has gone missing, and she's worried the worst has happened to him. She tries to go about business and find a lead to him, but her lead takes her to the captivating Kace August. Aria has never let herself get close to a man before, but she cannot resist Kace's pull. She becomes utterly tangled in Kace and his own secrets, but the violin won't play sweet music forever. Soon the strings will tighten and all could be lost.


This is the first book in the romantic suspense series, Brilliance Trilogy. And wow, what a beginning! I've never read anything by this author before, and I was immediately drawn in by Jones' style. It is prose like music itself. The whole soundtrack was the enchanting and haunting violin. I was even more swept away by the romance between Aria and Kace. It's incredibly intense, even with just a few touches and breaths. The steamy moments between them sizzle, and, oh, the secrets! I don't know exactly what Kace is up to, especially since the book does end on a huge cliffhanger. Yet Aria is trying to find her brother and remain hidden since she is the daughter of Alessandro Stradivari of the famous Stradivarius violin family, and people would kill for the secret of how to make one of their violins. She is cautious as she should be, but what exactly is Kace after? I don't know! But I have the next two books on my Kindle ready to go. I can't wait to find out.


I have started the second book in the series, and it takes off right where this one ends. It is no less intense and marvelously written as the first.


You can find Lisa Renee Jones on her site and buy the book here.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page