top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review of The Beginning of the End


Blurb: Daphne Rhodes would tell anyone: being ‘the one’ sucks.


At least, she would if there was anyone left to tell. She’s the one who’d survived. The one with the magic immune system that saved her.


The only one left on this whole miserable planet.


Daphne spends her days alone and craving answers as to why it had to be her. Why did she have to watch everyone she’d ever known and loved die a horrific death?


On her mother’s deathbed, Daphne learns long-hidden family secrets that send her on a quest across Canada to not only discover where she came from, why she survived, and who she is…but what she is, as well.


Review: It's the end of the world, and Daphne Rhodes is the only one who isn't sick and dying. As everyone she's ever known and loved dies, she rages at the world and wonders why she is immune. A secret from her mother's past drives Daphne to discover not only who she is what what she is. With her crow friend, she goes on a road trip to find her answers and to discover if there are others who survived.


This incredible post-apocalyptic paranormal story nabbed me from the very first line. I couldn't stop reading until it was all done, and the only reason I didn't immediately dive into the second book was because I was someplace I didn't have wi-fi! Daphne pulled me in right off with her closeness to her family and, oh, how heartbreaking losing them was. The sickness is very near to what we're experiencing in 2022, and all the elements of it had me sinking deeper into the tale. At first we had the background mystery of Daphne's immunity, but as the plot pushed forward, it began to unravel and grow, and I love how she went on a trip to find out what she wanted to know. I won't give any spoilers. This book is just the beginning of the series, and I'm so excited to get the next one and continue this fun and crazy journey with Daphne. Excellent writing, especially with the little details.


The Bloodlines series is episodic. Each novella is short and fast-paced. I'm currently on the fourth one, and I'm still loving it.


You can find Emily Hurricane on her website and check out the Bloodlines series here!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page