top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review of The Monster MASH (The Monster M*A*S*H #1)


Blurb: Ancient gods. Modern war. And a star-crossed couple who could use some divine intervention.


The day I was drafted into the army of the gods, all I knew about being a MASH surgeon was what I’d learned from Hawkeye Pierce and Hot Lips Houlihan. Now here I am, Dr. Petra Robichaud, in the middle of an immortal war, assigned to a MASH camp with a nosy sphinx, a vegetarian werewolf, and an uptight vampire who really needs to get a life.


At least they’re all too busy with their own dramas to discover my secret: I can see the dead. It’s a forbidden gift, one that can get me killed, so I haven’t told a soul.


Until the arrestingly intense Galen arrives on my operating table, half-dead and totally to-die-for. When his spirit tries to slip out of his fatally wounded body, I impulsively slip it back in. Call it a rash resurrection. One I’ll live to regret.


Now Commander Galen of Delphi knows my secret, and he’s convinced I’m part of an ancient prophecy—one that can end the war for good. But taking a chance could cost me everything. And it would be easier to convince him to leave me alone, except now the prophecies are starting to come true…


Review: Dr. Petra Robichaud is stuck in the middle of a war between the old gods and the new. Many mortals with supernatural lineages were drafted and are now doomed to live and die in limbo, because the war doesn't seem to be ending any time soon. Petra and her cohorts are in a MASH unit, fixing up the demi-gods and sending them back out to fight. When one gorgeous demi-god dies on the operating table, Petra coaxes his soul back into his body and saves his life. Of course, no one knows she can see the dead or the gods would kill her. Now he knows what she can do and is determined to prove to her she's the person in the prophecies who can end the war. Petra doesn't agree, but the Fates listen to no one.


This is the first book in the thrilling urban fantasy/paranormal romance series, The Monster MASH. It's an incredibly unique idea which I really liked. An immortal war where the mortals with supernatural powers are forced to fight for one side or another. They don't get a choice. The gods "recruit" without a care to the mortals' lives. Plus it taking place in a MASH unit, which is a place you know will get a lot of tension and drama. Lots of action there and a fantastic cast of characters. I particularly liked Petra's roomies, Rodger the werewolf and Marius the vampire. Yet my favorite was the nerdy sphinx, Jeffe. I admired Petra's strength and humor, but I did wonder why she was being so stubborn about the prophecy when she had nothing left to lose (well, except her life!). We don't learn until nearly the end why she was acting the way she did, but I don't think it helped the story not knowing. Realizing why she was acting toward the prophecy in the manner she did would have helped empathize with her. Commander Galen of Delphi was the perfect complement to Petra in that he had absolute faith in the prophecy, and he had infinite patience with her. The book did end the storyline it was following about the prophecy, but there's still plenty of story to tell!


You can find Angie Fox on her site and buy the book here!

Recent Posts

See All

FOLLOW ME

  • Amazon Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
app-icons-instagram.png

© 2023 by Samanta Jones. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page