top of page
  • Writer's picturechristinerainswrit

Review of Magic Forged


Blurb: I'm one scrappy wizard. As someone with barely a flicker of magic, I've spent my life being mocked and surviving fights with bullies. But when my parents die in an accident, and I find myself responsible for our whole wizard house and family, I know my usual tactics aren't going to cut it.


The situation veers from bad to catastrophic when my backstabbing cousin stages a coup and takes my family hostage. I barely manage to flee, but the only supernatural willing to help me is Killian Drake - the most feared vampire in the region, and a far more deadly villain than the jerk threatening my family.


Is Killian sexy and charismatic? Heck yeah.


He's also so powerful that my flight or fight instincts kick in every time our eyes meet. And he's definitely using me as his personal magic detector in his feud against the local fae.


But Killian is also the first person to believe I might have more than just a scrap of magic. And if I can convince him to train me, I might get strong enough to free my family and get my house back.


I'm not sure what happens when a scrappy wizard is taught how to fight by a hall of deadly vampires, but I'm about to find out.


Review: Hazel Medeis is the heir to her family's wizard House, and when her parents suddenly die in a tragic accident, she is thrust into the position of Adept. Except Hazel has only a sliver of magic, and no one seems to want her to be head of the Medeis House. When her cousin stages a coup, she barely gets away and saves herself by pledging service to the most dangerous vampire family in the Midwest. Killian Drake is frightening, but it seems he's always wanted a pet wizard, or perhaps someone to help him solve the murders going on in the vampire community. Hazel is trained by the vampires and starts to learn the ins and outs of the supernatural community, but will she be able to survive when everyone wants her dead?


This is a fantastic start to the urban fantasy series, Hall of Blood and Mercy. This book was a random pickup for me, and I'm so glad that I did get it! Hazel is scrappy, smart, and sassy. I loved her right away. I also very much loved her sentient magical House. I wanted more of House, but hopefully we'll see more of it in the next books. When she's betrayed by her cousin and all those other supernaturals she thought to be allies, she ends up with Killian Drake. And ooh, what a sexy vampire to be in the service of. Their slow burn romance is perfect, exactly what I'd been craving lately. Plus all the vamps in his family. What a great cast of characters! I really like Josh. Yup, a vampire named Josh! I guessed who the killer was early on, but it didn't matter. The journey was worth it! It was funny, it had tons of action, supernatural politics, and twists and turns. I highly recommend this read to fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romance. I've already bought the second book and can't wait to dive in!


I've read the entire trilogy now, and it was spectacular! The twist at the end... EEEEE!!! I didn't put up my reviews here of the next two books, so I wouldn't be posting any spoilers. This is for urban fantasy and paranormal romance readers who love a clean and slow burn romance.


You can find K.M. Shea on her website and pick up the Hall of Blood and Mercy trilogy here.

18 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page